Not In Jersey: What I’ve Been Reading #43 Featuring The Deepest Secret What I’ve Been Reading #43 Featuring The Deepest Secret - Not In Jersey

Friday, March 7, 2014

What I’ve Been Reading #43 Featuring The Deepest Secret

the-deepest-secret-199x300I received this book from TLC Book Tours for my review.

When I was told that The Deepest Secret by Carla Buckley is great for fans of Jodi Picoult, I knew I had to read it. As you know, I love most all of Jodi Picoult’s books, and I loved this book too.

“Eve Lattimore’s family is like every other on their suburban street, with one exception. Her son Tyler has a rare medical condition that makes him fatally sensitive to light, which means heavy curtains and deadlocked doors protect him during the day and he can never leave the house except at night. For Eve, only constant vigilance stands between an increasingly restless teenage son and the dangers of the outside world. Until the night the unthinkable happens. When tragedy strikes, it becomes clear that this family is not the only one on the quiet cul-de-sac that is more complicated than it appears. And as Eve is forced to shield her family from harm, there are some crises she cannot control—and some secrets that not even love can conceal. Deeply moving and stunningly suspenseful, The Deepest Secret is a novel of rare power—a story about hope and forgiveness, about the terrifying ways our lives can spin out of control and the unexpected sacrifices that may save us.”

A book about a family and their world, a world made smaller due to Tyler’s medical condition, this book looks at people’s motivations for their behavior when it comes to morality and the sacrifices made for family. As the book goes on, it becomes clear that each of the characters, not only the main family, but the neighbors as well, have their share of secrets. What makes it even more interesting is that some of  the characters discover things about the other characters, and the things they know, or in some cases, the things they believe, become secrets as well.

Without going into the actual story in order to keep that part a secret, this is definitely one of the best stories about a family that I have read in awhile. Every character is important, interesting, and lovely to get to know. If I have made you interested in reading, please leave me a comment and you’ll be entered to win your own copy!


This week I also read The Year of Fog by Michelle Richmond. Another family drama, this one was good as well. “Life changes in an instant. On a foggy beach. In the seconds when Abby Mason—photographer, fiancée soon-to-be-stepmother—looks into her camera and commits her greatest error. Heartbreaking, uplifting, and beautifully told, here is the riveting tale of a family torn apart, of the search for the truth behind a child’s disappearance, and of one woman’s unwavering faith in the redemptive power of love.” No one knows what happened to six-year-old Emma. She may have went into the ocean and drowned, but Abby refuses to believe that to be the case. She searches for clues about what may have happened, while also recalling her own childhood and researching the possibilities of memory – hoping to recall anything that may help her in her search. I found myself waiting for the big twist of the book to happen, but surprisingly the book is pretty straightforward, which in the end I was happy about! The end was interesting to me, in that it wasn’t a happy ending for some, but it seemed realistic in its sad way.

Have you read anything good lately? Don’t forget to let me know if you want to win a copy of The Deepest Secret!

18 comments:

Janine Huldie said...

I love Jodi Picoult, too and sounds like I may need to read The Deepest Secret, too from what you shared here. Thanks Dara!! :)

tamarsb said...

Oh wow - they both sound riveting!

anne said...

Thanks for this giveaway. I have read a memorable novel, The Tulip Rose by Jennifer Donnelly which I enjoyed greatly.

What the Schneck - the blog said...

Sounds like a great book. Years and years ago I watched a movie (probably on lifetime) about two sisters that were allergic to light and the struggles the family went through, sounds similar.

Dara said...

You are entered to win!

Dara said...

I'm entering you!

Dara said...

Thanks for entering!

Dara said...

I think I read about the documentary bc I was looking for more info on the disease!

Janine Huldie said...

Aww, thank unso much 😍

Tamara Bowman said...

Funny because Jodi Picoult was a topic of conversation on my blog today and my Ask Away Friday partner's blog today.
I've read all of hers so I imagine I'd be interested in this.

Leslie said...

The Deepest Secret sounds really good, I would love to read it!

Dara said...

I haven't seen your post yet but I will read it soon!

Dara said...

It's definitely good!

Dara said...

Thanks for entering!

HeatherTLC said...

Glad to see that you enjoyed this one! Thanks for being on the tour.

Dara said...

thanks!

Shoshanah G said...

I recently won a copy of The Deepest Secret! I haven't actually heard much about it, but reading your review definitely gets me excited to read it!

Dara said...

I saw that you got a copy! hope you enjoy it.